Confirmed: Team Ireland 2024 Junior World Championship riders selected – McCullough in

Image: Nigel McKinstry

Ireland will finally send a team to the Junior World Championship event this year to the Netherlands. It’s long over due but progress.

The MCUI/MRA weren’t going to approve McCullough’s entry as he wanted to race the event as an individual but there looks to have been a compromise and McCullough has been named as part of the Irish team. It is a bit of a shame someone like Jack Meara isn’t racing the event as it would have been a good experience for him as well but the 85cc riders selected particularly look strong.

We’d like to wish all the riders selected good luck for the event on the 13th and 14th of July at Heerde.

The following statement was posted:

This article continues below

This prestigious event will gather young motocross talents from 38 Nations, all competing to bring glory to their countries. Competitors will race in three distinct classes, battling for the titles of Junior World Champion in the 125cc and 85cc categories, as well as the World Cup Winner in the 65cc class.

The FIM Junior Motocross World Championship has been the launchpad for some of the biggest names in the sport and is seen as a key springboard for the brightest and best talent to put their name into the reckoning of factory teams and official backing.

Each rider will be scoring points for their country resulting in an overall result to crown the winning team. The home crowd (The Netherlands) will be looking to encourage their team to go one better than they did in Romania in 2023, when they finished a close second to the victorious Italian squad. Team France were 3rd ahead of the USA and Latvia, so there is a genuine International World Championship atmosphere at this incredible event, and with fervent local support it promises to be a very exciting weekend of action.

The MCUI Motocross Commission had planned to send an official team to this event for 2023 but due to the last-minute resignation of the Team Manager, a team could not be sent. However, in 2024 with the appointment of former Motocross Des Nations Team Ireland rider, Richard McKeown as the Team Manager, a new team spirit was formed and after many months of fundraising and rider development, the MCUI Motocross Commission have approved a squad of Ireland’s 10 top youths.

All riders are happy to represent their fellow countrymen in showcasing the best of Ireland’s youth motocross talent on the top international stage.

The Commission wishes the Team and the Team Manager the best of luck and continued success with the hope of a good result to bring back home.

The Commission would like to thank the Team sponsors without whom, the Team could not be sent: MCUI, Motorcycle Racing Association Ireland (MRA), Motorcycling Ireland (MCI), Mooney’s Hyundai, CCM Dublin, Jones Plant Hire, TwoTwo95 Designs, Mediterranean Tiles 2024.

Team Ireland:

This article continues below

Team Manager: Richard Mc Keown (Tyrone)

65cc: Caleb Ross (Antrim), Cole Mc Auley (Antrim), Max Jones (Fermanagh).

85cc: Alfie Herron (Down), Ollie Holland (Armagh), Kole Nally (Wicklow), Jack Deasy (Dublin), John McCann (Wicklow).

125cc: Lewis Spratt (Tyrone), Cole McCullough (Antrim).