Race report: Spanish GP – Renaux does the double!

Maxime Renaux had the perfect day going 1-1 on a rutted and technial circuit in Spain to take the MXGP win and show that he is the guy ready to take advantage of anything going wrong for Tim Gajser.

Renaux passed Prado to take the lead in race one and held off Gajser for the win with Prado third. In race two Prado was edging away from Renaux when he lost traction landing off a jump and went down in the ruts giving Renaux a free run to the flag with the win.

Coldenhoff took second in race two for second overall and a 1-2 for Yamaha as Brian Bogers was superb all day going 4-3 for third overall and his second podium of the season.

A still slightly off tune Tim Gajser did some good damage limitation as he recovers from illness going 2-6 but he knows Renaux has the momentum heading into his home GP as Mattia Guadagnini had a great race taking sixth overall as he shows he’s a fast learner on a 450!

This article continues below

Renaux said: “It was just a great weekend, two good starts, my first 1-1 in MXGP, I’m speechless.”

MXGP – GP Classification
1. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 50 points; 2. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 38 p.; 3. Brian Bogers (NED, HUS), 38 p.; 4. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 37 p.; 5. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 30 p.; 6. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 29 p.; 7. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 29 p.; 8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 28 p.; 9. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 24 p.; 10. Alberto Forato (ITA, GAS), 23 p.; 11. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 22 p.; 12. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 22 p.; 13. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 16 p.; 14. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, HON), 11 p.; 15. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), 11 p.; 16. Jed Beaton (AUS, KAW), 11 p.; 17. Benoit Paturel (FRA, HON), 9 p.; 18. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 5 p.; 19. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 4 p.; 20. Alvin Östlund (SWE, YAM), 3 p.; 21. Nicholas Lapucci (ITA, FAN), 2 p.; 22. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, KTM), 0 p.; 23. Miro Sihvonen (FIN, HON), 0 p.; 24. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, BET), 0 p.; 25. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, HON), 0 p.; 26. Christophe Charlier (FRA, YAM), 0 p.; 27. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, YAM), 0 p.; 28. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 0 p.;
MXGP – World Championship Classification
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 404 points; 2. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 338 p.; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 292 p.; 4. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 290 p.; 5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 272 p.; 6. Brian Bogers (NED, HUS), 243 p.; 7. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 242 p.; 8. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 196 p.; 9. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 194 p.; 10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, BET), 189 p.; 11. Alberto Forato (ITA, GAS), 172 p.; 12. Ben Watson (GBR, KAW), 137 p.; 13. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 136 p.; 14. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 123 p.; 15. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), 114 p.; 16. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 99 p.; 17. Jed Beaton (AUS, KAW), 93 p.; 18. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, KTM), 73 p.; 19. Alvin Östlund (SWE, YAM), 59 p.; 20. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 52 p.;

A crash while leading in each moto cost Jago Geerts the MX2 world championship lead as Tom Vialle took advantage of the mistakes to win both motos and take the red plate.

“Today was just perfect. I feel really great with the bike,” enthused a delighted Vialle.

Geerts first crash was scary after losing grip on the ridiculously over-watered take-off on a double and going down hard. Fortunately, although sore, Geerts got back on the bike and came from last to ninth.

Race two and it was looking like another Vialle/Geerts duel until Geerts slipped out on a berm and gave the lead away, consequently having to settle for second in the moto but still took third overall on the podium. Vialle now leads the series by ten points heading into France next weekend.

Simon Laengenfelder had a very strong day going 2-3 for second overall with Liam Everts coming from a bad start to sixth in race one then holeshotting race two and riding really well for fourth. Everts is learning the MX2 pace fast.

MX2 – GP Classification
1. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 47 p.; 3. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 40 p.; 4. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 34 p.; 5. Andrea Adamo (ITA, GAS), 29 p.; 6. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 29 p.; 7. Isak Gifting (SWE, KTM), 28 p.; 8. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KAW), 28 p.; 9. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 24 p.; 10. Bastian Boegh Damm (DEN, KTM), 21 p.; 11. Kevin Brumann (SUI, YAM), 21 p.; 12. Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 17 p.; 13. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, HON), 13 p.; 14. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 12 p.; 15. Jakub Teresak (CZE, KTM), 12 p.; 16. Kay Karssemakers (NED, KTM), 12 p.; 17. Filip Olsson (SWE, HUS), 7 p.; 18. Petr Polak (CZE, HON), 7 p.; 19. Joel Rizzi (GBR, YAM), 6 p.; 20. Valerio Lata (ITA, KTM), 6 p.; 21. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM), 2 p.;
MX2 – World Championship Classification
1. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 338 points; 2. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 332 p.; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 245 p.; 4. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KAW), 239 p.; 5. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 233 p.; 6. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 211 p.; 7. Andrea Adamo (ITA, GAS), 198 p.; 8. Isak Gifting (SWE, KTM), 193 p.; 9. Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 175 p.; 10. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 172 p.; 11. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 153 p.; 12. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, HON), 125 p.; 13. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM), 113 p.; 14. Jeremy Sydow (GER, HUS), 88 p.; 15. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 87 p.; 16. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 83 p.; 17. Kevin Brumann (SUI, YAM), 72 p.; 18. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 55 p.; 19. Kay Karssemakers (NED, KTM), 44 p.; 20. Petr Polak (CZE, HON), 44 p

Image: InFront Moto Racing

Report: Jonathan McCready