Ulster Championship Preview: Heads to Tandragee

The North Armagh Motorcycle and Car Club Off Road Section welcome back the premier motocross series in Ireland after a long absence of over three years this Saturday 27th May 2023.

The fourth round of six arrives with the Jet Products MX1A class being led by Loughbrickland man Jason Meara on 250 points, Jason may be an absentee this weekend as he chases MX National titles in England, which will allow Lisburn veteran, Richard Bird a chance to overhaul Jason as he is only 2 points adrift, with Ballynahinch youngster Nathan Green 12 pits behind in third, with Jordanstown’s Jay McCrum fourth 20 points behind Green and another youngster Ivan Kerr from Donegal only two points away from McCrum, and another wily campaigner in Paul Atkinson from Ballyclare in 6th.

The Ross Quarry Products MX2A Class is even tighter with Dundonald’s spectacular James Mackerel on 147 points, Jordan Keogh from Dublin on 146 points, and Donaghcloneys Niall Cregan on 144 points, fourth is veteran and recent reverse retiree multi Irish & Ulster Champion Tommy Merton from Comber on 114 points, Ballymoney man Jordan McCaw is on 111, and Comber man David Russell on 106, so anyone can come out on top on Saturday from that group.

Nutt Travel MX1B has a bit of a clear leader in Jamie Clarke on 166, with veteran Sean Laverty on 128, Darren O’Grady on 117, Ryan Heaney on 94, Jake Hall from Magherafelt on 89, and Graham Higgenbotham on 83, with only the top Clarke O’Grady & Heaney having competed in all rounds so far, this may explain the gap here.

This article continues below

Adair Building Services MX2B is led by Loughbrickland teenager Jack Meara on 150 points, chased by Tony McCann & Ross Graham both on 133 points, Adam Donnelly is fourth on 111, fifth is Jonathan Merriman, and sixth is fellow regular top runner in this class, Kevin Lynch.

The hugely popular Robinsons Concrete MX1 Clubman’s class is led by the irrepressible Waringstown man Steven White, a Club Member here, on 165 points, Neil Laverty is a slightly distant second on 124 points, Stephen Edgar on 105 is third, fourth is Lurgan man, and Club Member Damien McGrath, while tied for fifth on89 points each is Alister Doherty and Graham Caldwell.

The Philip McCallen Motorcycles MX2 Clubman’s Class is a tighter affair with Rory Cultra leading on 156, from Charlie McCann on 127, Jordan McMullan on 136, regular front runner Darren Wilkinson fourth on 107 with another usual suspect Stephen Maitland fifth on 101 and a tie for sixth on 97 points each between Paul Gray and Cameron Macklin.

The two Youth Classes have not been well supported so far, with the YMX2 class for 125cc machinery being led by Nathan Donnelly on172 points, second on 150 is Lewis McMurty on 140, third is Zdenko Krizka on 140.

The 250F class for the more powerful four strokes is led by James McAdoo on 160 points with Benas Blazevicius second on94 and Lennox Dickson third on 75.

Racing at the track starts at 11.00 am and will be signposted from the Mahon Road, the track postcode is BT62 3SL, come along for a great days entertainment and see the fastest off road riders in Ireland in action over a fast spectacular track.

Words: Malcolm Beattie

Image: Nigel McKinstry