Race results: MX2 World Championship RD6 – Coenen takes the win at Lugo

Image: MXGP/Infront Moto Racing

MX2 has provided some brilliant racing this year and it was more of the same in the opening race at Lugo. It was Thibault Benistant and Sacha Coenen leading the way but Andrea Adamo got a good start and was on the move.

The Italian quickly passed his team mate and then set his sights on Benistant. Adamo then made a move stick and ran into the distance looking like he’d take a comfortable race win.

But… After an average start, Kay de Wolf was on the move! The Dutch sensation caught Benistant for second and the pair started to catch Adamo as a result. De Wolf passed Benistant after a while the pair battled – it was nice to see the French talent fight! However, after just getting past the track caught Benistant out and he took a big crash.

De Wolf then closed the gap on Adamo and it was a two lap fight but the Italian showed his determination to take a big win.  Fantastic racing!

This article continues below

Liam Everts got promoted to third after Benistant’s big crash with Lucas Coenen fourth. Benistant was able to bring home fifth but he’ll be sore for moto two.

It was a week ago that Simon Laengenfelder broke his collarbone and he brought home a seventh position.

Conditions were different again for race two with the track drier out and becoming more hard pack than the sandier conditions from race one. Lucas Coenen got a better start in race one and got into the race lead quickly to pull away from the rest of the pack.

Liam Everts was riding well in second with Kay de Wolf getting a terrible start. The Dutch rider had to work really hard to come through the pack passing Sacha Coenen, Mikkel Haarup and Andrea Adamo to get himself to third but unbelievably he needed another pass to get on the podium – in fact it would have won him the GP.

De Wolf got close to Everts for second but just ran out of time and as a result missed out on an overall podium – that’s how close it was between the first four riders.

Coenen took the GP win overall Adamo and Everts.

Race One: 

This article continues below

Race Two: 


Updated Championship standings: