Race report: Herlings equals Everts GP win record!

Jeffrey Herlings took his 101st GP win in Portugal to tie Stefan Everts with the most Grand Prix wins ever as he closes the gap to Jorge Prado to 17 points on a great day in Portugal for the Dutchman.

Prado blitzed the first moto pulling away early then doing enough to hold Febvre and a charging Herlings at bay in race one. Herlings got away with Febvre but arm pump prevented him going with the leaders but he was the fastest man on track by the end when his arms were free from lactic acid.

In race two Prado didn’t quite get the start but Herlings was aggressive, forcing his way into second as Prado put the pressure on Febvre for fifth until a mistake dropped him to sixth and Herlings passed Fernandez for the lead. Herlings controlled the race from there with Febvre getting Seewer for third, but third to sixth were all close at the end, however, Prado was unable to find his way past a stubborn Vlaanderen who himself couldn’t get a way by Seewer.

It was an awful weekend for title contender Maxime Renaux who slipped from second to fourth in points after his bike expired yesterday leading to two bad starts and more mistakes today and only tenth overall.

This article continues below

Herlings said: “Matching Stefan, so next thing to try to pass him now! I felt great all weekend but first moto I was really struggling with arm pump I feel I’m slowly step by step coming back, I’m still not the old one. The first moto wasn’t great but the second moto I felt good again.”

Prado said: “I think I rode pretty good both days. I was chatting and lost the front and hurt my shoulder a but, took a few laps to regroup but couldn’t pass Vlaanderen. We are really looking forward to next weekend in Spain. We go for the victory there.”

MXGP – GP Classification
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 45 points; 2. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 42 p.; 3. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 40 p.; 4. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 36 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 34 p.; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 32 p.; 7. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 29 p.; 8. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 28 p.; 9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 23 p.; 10. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 18 p.; 11. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 18 p.; 12. Alberto Forato (ITA, KTM), 18 p.; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 17 p.; 14. Brian Bogers (NED, HON), 13 p.; 15. Brent Van doninck (BEL, HON), 11 p.; 16. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 11 p.; 17. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 8 p.; 18. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 7 p.; 19. Paulo Alberto (POR, YAM), 4 p.; 20. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 3 p.; 21. Mitchell Evans (AUS, KAW), 3 p.; 22. Michael Ivanov (BUL, HUS), 2 p.; 23. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, HON), 0 p.; 24. Ashton Dickinson (GBR, KTM), 0 p.; 25. Luis Outeiro (POR, YAM), 0 p.; 26. Kevin Brumann (SUI, 
MXGP – World Championship Classification
1. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 246 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 229 p.; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 214 p.; 4. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 202 p.; 5. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 182 p.; 6. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 162 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 152 p.; 8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 148 p.; 9. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 139 p.; 10. Alberto Forato (ITA, KTM), 116 p.; 11. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 108 p.; 12. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 87 p.; 13. Brent Van doninck (BEL, HON), 83 p.; 14. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 79 p.; 15. Brian Bogers (NED, HON), 66 p.; 16. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HON), 56 p.; 17. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 49 p.; 18. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 48 p.; 19. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 19 p.; 20. Tom Koch (GER, KTM

In MX2 it was the Jago Geerts show. The Belgian dominated all weekend but the Husqvarna duo of Kay de Wolf and Roan van de Moosdijk rode really well to round off the podium.

Andrea Adamo missed out on the box after not a great start in race two and a fifth place but was impressive in the opening moto leading for 20 minutes as Geerts bided his time with the track overwatered before making his move for the win.

MX2 – GP Classification
1. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 50 points; 2. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 42 p.; 3. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 38 p.; 4. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 38 p.; 5. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 34 p.; 6. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 26 p.; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 26 p.; 8. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 26 p.; 9. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 24 p.; 10. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 21 p.; 11. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KTM), 21 p.; 12. Emil Weckman (FIN, HON), 20 p.; 13. David Braceras (ESP, KAW), 17 p.; 14. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 11 p.; 15. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 10 p.; 16. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 9 p.; 17. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 7 p.; 18. Bobby Bruce (GBR, GAS), 6 p.; 19. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 6 p.; 20. Adria Monne Viles (ESP, KTM), 3 p.; 21. Taylor Hammal (GBR, KTM), 3 p.; 22. Mike Gwerder (SUI, KTM), 3 p.; 23. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 1 p.; 24. Lorenzo Ciabatti (ITA, KTM), 0 p.; 25. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 0 p.; 26. Joel Rizzi (GBR, HON), 0 p.; 27. Yago Martinez (ESP, KTM), 0 p.; 28. Alexandre Marques (POR, HUS), 0 p.;
MX2 – World Championship Classification
1. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 265 points; 2. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 229 p.; 3. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 220 p.; 4. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 206 p.; 5. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 201 p.; 6. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 191 p.; 7. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 157 p.; 8. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 143 p.; 9. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 130 p.; 10. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 115 p.; 11. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 102 p.; 12. Emil Weckman (FIN, HON), 89 p.; 13. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KTM), 70 p.; 14. David Braceras (ESP, KAW), 58 p.; 15. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 50 p.; 16. Yago Martinez (ESP, KTM), 37 p.; 17. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 33 p.; 18. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 21 p.; 19. Joel Rizzi (GBR, HON), 19 p.; 20. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 17 p.

Report: Jonathan McCready

Image: InFront Moto Racing