Race report: Spanish GP – Herlings the record breaker!

Jeffrey Herlings took his 102nd and record breaking Grand Prix win in the backyard of his World Championship rival to to create a lasting legacy wih Stefan Everts in attendance and take a big step to taking the red plate in simultaneous emphatic fashion. What a perfect day for the Dutch rider.

Product Review: Huge American embed Instagram code Royal Caribbean offers the kind of enormous, city-on-a-ship cruises that you either love or hate.

Herlings and Prado got into a battle for third in race one, passing and repairing each other before Herlings chased down a flying Guadagnini for the win with Prado charging hard to get into second with Guadagnini an excellent third.

In race two Herlings came from fifth and at the halfway point pulled the pin to go from third to fifth passing Guadagnini and race leader Ruben Fernandez who was having a fantastic ride out front in front of his home crowd.

This article continues below

But not even the Spaniard with a crowd behind him could hold the winning machine behind him as Herlings went 1-1 at Prado’s home GP. Prado taking fifth in race two. The points are down to six and Herlings is officially the winningest GP rider ever – and maybe, probably, the fastest rider that has ever lived.

Herlings said: ” It’s pretty insane. To do it at Jorge home place is pretty nice. I want to thank myself, because I did it and thanks to everyone that has helped for all the GP wins. To have won 102 GP wins with one team, I want to thank Pit for this one.”

Mattia Guadagnini got a well deserved podium, alongside Ruben Fernandez with Prado’s countryman and teammate keeping the championship leader off the box for the first time all season, and at his home track and the first time all year he couldn’t holeshot when he really needed too.

MXGP – GP Classification
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 40 p.; 3. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 38 p.; 4. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 38 p.; 5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 33 p.; 6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 31 p.; 7. Alberto Forato (ITA, KTM), 29 p.; 8. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 27 p.; 9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 22 p.; 10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 22 p.; 11. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 18 p.; 12. Mitchell Evans (AUS, KAW), 16 p.; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 12 p.; 14. Brian Bogers (NED, HON), 12 p.; 15. Kevin Brumann (SUI, YAM), 11 p.; 16. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 9 p.; 17. Michael Ivanov (BUL, HUS), 8 p.; 18. Ashton Dickinson (GBR, KTM), 7 p.; 19. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, HON), 6 p.; 20. Brent Van doninck (BEL, HON), 5 p.; 21. Tristan Purdon (RSA, KTM), 4 p.; 22. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 3 p.; 23. Simeo Ubach (ESP, HUS), 1 p.; 24. Xurxo Prol Ormeno (ESP, HUS), 0 p.; 25. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 0 p.; 26. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 0 p.;
MXGP – World Championship Classification
1. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 294 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 288 p.; 3. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 224 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 214 p.; 5. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 202 p.; 6. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 191 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 190 p.; 8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 187 p.; 9. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 186 p.; 10. Alberto Forato (ITA, KTM), 151 p.; 11. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 131 p.; 12. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 94 p.; 13. Brent Van doninck (BEL, HON), 88 p.; 14. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 87 p.; 15. Brian Bogers (NED, HON), 78 p.; 16. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 70 p.; 17. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HON), 56 p.; 18. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 52 p.; 19. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 36 p.; 20. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 28 p.; 21. Kevin Brumann (SUI, YAM), 22 p.; 22. Mitchell Evans (AUS, KAW), 19 p.; 23. Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 15 p.; 24. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, HON), 13 p.; 25. Michael Ivanov (BUL, HUS), 11 p.

Simon Laengenfelder dominated both motos to win his first MX2 GP overall since the first round at Matterley Basin in 2022! Laengenfelder was the class of the field in both motos and even Jago Geerts realised it wasn’t worth risking a world title to go that pace and settled for second with Andrea Adamo keeping his good form going with third overall.

MX2 – GP Classification
1. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 50 points; 2. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 44 p.; 3. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 36 p.; 4. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 36 p.; 5. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 36 p.; 6. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 29 p.; 7. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 27 p.; 8. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 24 p.; 9. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 22 p.; 10. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 19 p.; 11. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 19 p.; 12. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 17 p.; 13. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KTM), 15 p.; 14. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 15 p.; 15. David Braceras (ESP, KAW), 14 p.; 16. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 11 p.; 17. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 9 p.; 18. Emil Weckman (FIN, HON), 8 p.; 19. Tom Guyon (FRA, FAN), 6 p.; 20. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 3 p.; 21. Mike Gwerder (SUI, KTM), 1 p.; 22. Adria Monne Viles (ESP, KTM), 1 p.; 23. Bobby Bruce (GBR, GAS), 0 p.; 24. Taylor Hammal (GBR, KTM), 0 p.; 25. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 0 p.; 26. Yago Martinez (ESP, KTM), 0 p.; 27. Joel Rizzi (GBR, HON), 0 p.; 28. Lorenzo Ciabatti (ITA
MX2 – World Championship Classification
1. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 319 points; 2. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 271 p.; 3. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 263 p.; 4. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 259 p.; 5. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 247 p.; 6. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 219 p.; 7. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 187 p.; 8. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 173 p.; 9. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 154 p.; 10. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 134 p.; 11. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 121 p.; 12. Emil Weckman (FIN, HON), 97 p.; 13. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KTM), 85 p.; 14. David Braceras (ESP, KAW), 72 p.; 15. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 69 p.; 16. Yago Martinez (ESP, KTM), 37 p.; 17. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 36 p.; 18. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 33 p.; 19. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 32 p.; 20. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 26 p.; 21. Joel Rizzi (GBR, HON), 19 p.; 22. Tom Guyon (FRA, FAN), 18 p.; 23. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 14 p.; 24. Bobby Bruce (GBR, GAS), 13 p.; 25. Filip Olsson (SWE, HUS), 11 p.; 26. Lorenzo Ciabatti (ITA, KTM), 11 p.; 27. Tomás Moyano (ARG, KAW), 10 p.; 28. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 8 p.; 29. Marcel Stauffer (AUT, KTM), 7 p.; 30. Petr Polak (CZE, 

Report: Jonathan McCready

Image: Ray Archer