The Netherlands select 2021 Junior World Championship riders

The KNMV announces its selection for the FIM World Junior Motocross Championship. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year is different than in other years.

Because no EMX races could be organized in the classes 65cc and 85cc last year, it was not possible to use these classes as criteria to make a selection for the World Championship. Therefore, it was decided to organize a special event for the 65, 85 and 125cc classes at the circuit of Lelystad.

On this circuit, there could be trained via World Cup set-up and races were held. The results of this event were added to the results of the riders in the ONK races in Delfzijl. For the 125cc class, we also looked at the race in the English Matterley Basin where the two races were counted as criteria. In this way, we think we arrived at the best selection for the World Championship in Greece in a correct manner.

The following participants have been selected for the World Championships in Greece:

This article continues below

Class 65cc (competing in the FIM Junior Motocross World Cup):

Dean Gregoire
Dex van den Broek
Reserve: Jenairo Beerens

Class 85cc:

Mick Kennedy
Lotte van Drunen
Reserve: Gyan Doensen

Class 125cc:

Kay Karssemakers
Ivano van Erp
Reserves: Cas Valk, Scott Smulders

The FIM Junior Motocross World Championship will be organized – with a year’s delay – from July 31 until August 1 at the circuit of Megalopolis in Greece. The selected participants have been informed and we hope to welcome them at the start at the end of this month to compete against the top riders from the different participating countries.

Words: KNMV