Race report: Latvian MXGP – Herlings wins 103rd GP as De Wolf wins his first!

Jeffrey Herlings eclipsed Ricky Carmichael’s 102 MX wins by taking his 103rd (104 including his AMA win) to making him winningest rider in any series at the elite level on the planet in the history of the sport in a mixed weather day in Latvia.

Herlings ran down Jorge Prado in race one despite an early race tip over to put a perfect block pass on his title rival to take the opening moto win.

Prado saying he was “pissed off” with his first moto ride, feeling he should have won but rode too stiff.

Race two and, with heavy rain making the track difficult, Herlings actually dropped to third as Febvre passed him for second then caught and passed Prado for the lead. When Herlings saw Coldenhoff within a couple of seconds he decided to gey going, caught and passed Prado before reeling in Febvre and passing him with 3/4 laps remaining. These late races charges are becoming a habit and no-one else can that pace as the laps wind down.

This article continues below

Herlings, now 15 points behind Prado, said: “It was a tough race. I had to pass Jorge and Romain it was difficult the track was one lined. 1-1 and also a win yesterday, looking forward to Germany next week.”

MXGP – GP Classification
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 42 p.; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 37 p.; 4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 36 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 30 p.; 6. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 30 p.; 7. Alberto Forato (ITA, KTM), 28 p.; 8. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 23 p.; 9. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 23 p.; 10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 19 p.; 11. Mitchell Evans (AUS, KAW), 14 p.; 12. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 14 p.; 13. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 12 p.; 14. Brian Bogers (NED, HON), 12 p.; 15. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 11 p.; 16. Tanel Leok (EST, HUS), 10 p.; 17. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 10 p.; 18. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, HON), 9 p.; 19. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), 9 p.; 20. Jere Haavisto (FIN, KTM), 8 p.; 21. Tomass Sileika (LAT, GAS), 7 p.; 22. Andero Lusbo (EST, GAS), 5 p.; 23. Domantas Jazdauskas (LTU, KTM), 2 p.; 24. Albin Gerhardsson (SWE, HUS), 1 p.; 25. Brent Van doninck (BEL, HON), 0 p.; 26. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 0 p
MXGP – World Championship Classification
1. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 393 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 378 p.; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 306 p.; 4. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, HON), 294 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 273 p.; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 260 p.; 7. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 260 p.; 8. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, GAS), 203 p.; 9. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 202 p.; 10. Alberto Forato (ITA, KTM), 191 p.; 11. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 181 p.; 12. Brent Van doninck (BEL, HON), 114 p.; 13. Brian Bogers (NED, HON), 112 p.; 14. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 109 p.; 15. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, BET), 108 p.; 16. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 97 p.; 17. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 74 p.; 18. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 66 p.; 19. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HON), 56 p.; 20. Mitchell Evans (AUS, KAW), 48 p.; 21. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 45 p.; 22. Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 27 p.; 23. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, HON), 23 p.; 24. Kevin Brumann (SUI, YAM), 22 p.; 25. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), 18 p.; 26. Michael Ivanov (BUL, HUS), 11 p.; 27. Tanel Leok (EST, HUS), 10 p.; 28. Pierre Goupillon (FRA, KTM), 10 p.; 29. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 9 p.; 30. Jere Haavisto (FIN, KTM), 8

Kay de Wolf took the red plate and his first ever MX2 GP win with a 1-1 victory in two very different motos in Latvia.

In race one, de Wolf scrubbed like James Stewart to pass Thibault Benistant for lead in a glitzy pass then held in when Benistant put the pressure on at the end of the race.

Race two and de Wolf was second behind Lucas Coenen until he went over a berm and crashed. De Wolf inherited second when Van de Moosdijk crashed himself and then got the lead after Coenen, with over a ten second lead, went down and handed de Wolf the perfect 1-1.

De Wolf said: This took so much hard work, pain. I kept fighting always to make this dream cone true. Let’s enjoy this one.

Coenen will be fuming after the DNF on lap one of race one and throwing away the win in race two but his potential to wins GPs is there if the starts come together.

Thibault Benistant and Everts got caught in a race two pile-up ending Benistant’s hopes of a GP win but he got back to sixth for third on the podium.

MX2 – GP Classification
1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 50 points; 2. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 40 p.; 3. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 37 p.; 4. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 34 p.; 5. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 31 p.; 6. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 31 p.; 7. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KTM), 27 p.; 8. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 25 p.; 9. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 24 p.; 10. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 22 p.; 11. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, HON), 20 p.; 12. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 19 p.; 13. Mike Gwerder (SUI, KTM), 18 p.; 14. Devin Warner Simonson (USA, KTM), 13 p.; 15. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 11 p.; 16. Lorenzo Ciabatti (ITA, KTM), 8 p.; 17. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 8 p.; 18. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 7 p.; 19. Filip Olsson (SWE, HUS), 6 p.; 20. Yago Martinez (ESP, KTM), 5 p.; 21. Erlandas Mackonis (LTU, KTM), 4 p.; 22. Lorenzo Corti (ITA, HUS), 2 p.; 23. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 0 p.;
MX2 – World Championship Classification
1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 367 points; 2. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 355 p.; 3. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 348 p.; 4. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 319 p.; 5. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, HUS), 303 p.; 6. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 273 p.; 7. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 259 p.; 8. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KAW), 232 p.; 9. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 223 p.; 10. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 160 p.; 11. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, KTM), 134 p.; 12. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 121 p.; 13. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 112 p.; 14. Emil Weckman (FIN, HON), 97 p.; 15. David Braceras (ESP, KAW), 79 p.; 16. Isak Gifting (SWE, GAS), 72 p.; 17. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 52 p.; 18. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 44 p.; 19. Yago Martinez (ESP, KTM), 42 p.; 20. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM),
Report: Jonathan McCready

Image: InFront Moto Racing