Results: British GP – MXGP – Cairoli on top again!

Race one

Antonio Cairoli showed the young chargers a clean pair of heels as he passed teammate Prado on lap one to take the lead and never look back in a scintillating display if controlled speed to take the win at 35 years old! Cairoli no doubt motivated from the crash in Russia dropped his lap times by a second with 8 minutes to go to end any hopes Prado had to sniffing a late race victory. Jeffrey Herlings worked his way into third with Gajser following his every move as they passed the Yamaha’s of Seewer and Coldenhoff but neither could get close to Cairoli despite all the big guns getting away well at the front.

Pauls Jonass rode a great race ahead to take sixth and pressuring Coldenhoff all the way but it was the best performance so far from Coldenhoff on the Yamaha’s. Romain Febvre took a while to get by a fat starting Lupino but seventh was the best he could do in what was a very fast front eight! Ben Watson was best Brit taking 11th and big improvement on Russia – another lap or two and he may have got Arnaud Tonus for tenth!

Race two

This article continues below

What a race! The was intense from turn one with Febvre taking a holeshot but Cairoli went from third to first in two turns then back to third a couple of turns later as Febvre and Prado went back to the front! Febvre then grabbed the lead as Cairoli dropped back to fourth in an intense battle with Gajser!

Febvre started pulling away as Cairoli, Gajser, Prado and now Herlings, up to fifth after passing Coldenhoff and Seewr went at it. Cairoli and Gajser got Prado and then Gajser got himself into second and started chasing down Febvre – but he was pulling Cairoli with him! Herlings was stuck trying to pass Prado and by the time he did the front three had a gap and a pace that Herlings couldn’t match.

All eyes were on Gajser as he closed unto Febvre with Cairoli right there as well. The two setting a pace no-one else in the field could get close two by Gajser could not final a way by Febvre! With two laps to go Cairoli finally settling for the overall win but no-one was settling Gajser down! He went after Febvre again this time making the pass only for Febvre to fight back and take the lead again! Last lap and Gajser went for Febvre again Tinus going around the outside with Febvre losing drive and finally Gajser could take control of the lead and hold off the fast Frenchman until the flag in a scintillating race with Cairoli happy with third and the overall win!

Pauls Jonass rode well through the pack for sixth with Prado dropping back to seventh as Ben Watson had another good ride making the top ten for the first time in his MXGP career.


  1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 45 points; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 43 p.; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 38 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 36 p.; 5. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 36 p.; 6. Pauls Jonass (LAT, GAS), 30 p.; 7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 29 p.; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 28 p.; 9. Ben Watson (GBR, YAM), 21 p.; 10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, KTM), 20 p.; 11. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, BET), 19 p.; 12. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 16 p.; 13. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 14 p.; 14. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, YAM), 14 p.; 15. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 13 p.; 16. Brian Bogers (NED, GAS), 12 p.; 17. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 9 p.; 18. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), 7 p.; 19. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 5 p.; 20. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 3 p.; 21. Alvin Östlund (SWE, YAM), 2 p.; 22. Lorenzo Locurcio (VEN, KTM), 1 p.; 23. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 1 p.; 24. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 0 p.; 25. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KAW), 0 p.; 26. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 0 p.; 27. Harri Kullas (EST, YAM), 0 p.; 28. Anton Gole (SWE, HUS), 0 p.; 29. Nathan Watson (GBR, HON), 0 p.; 30. Josh Gilbert (GBR, HUS), 0 p.; 31. Alberto Forato (ITA, GAS), 0 p.; 32. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 0 p.; 33. John Adamson (GBR, KTM), 0 p.; 34. Jimmy Clochet (FRA, BET), 0 p.; 35. Petar Petrov (BUL, HON), 0 p.;


1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 93 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 78 p.; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 73 p.; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 65 p.; 5. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 61 p.; 6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 60 p.; 7. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, KTM), 54 p.; 8. Pauls Jonass (LAT, GAS), 50 p.; 9. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 43 p.; 10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, YAM), 42 p.; 11. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, BET), 39 p.; 12. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 31 p.; 13. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 29 p.; 14. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, YAM), 28 p.; 15. Ben Watson (GBR, YAM), 22 p.; 16. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 21 p.; 17. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 19 p.; 18. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 17 p.; 19. Alvin Östlund (SWE, YAM), 16 p.; 20. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 14 p.; 21. Brian Bogers (NED, GAS), 12 p.; 22. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), 7 p.; 23. Nathan Watson (GBR, HON), 4 p.; 24. Lorenzo Locurcio (VEN, KTM), 3 p.; 25. Vsevolod Brylyakov (MFR, HON), 2 p.; 26. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 1 p.;

Image: Juan Pablo Acevedo