2023 Ernee MXoN results: B-Final – Sweden through after protest!

The B-Final provided to be a chaotic race with passes, crashes and riders jumping on waved yellow flags adding to the drama! In the end it was Portugal that got through after a dramatic wait to find out.

For Ireland, Martin Barr got a good start battling for fourth before crashing at a very tricky part of the track. Meara was outside the top ten but made a number of passes and ended up a superb seventh with full time AMA rider, Joshua Varize passing him on the final lap. Glenn McCormick sadly had issues after the third lap which resulted in a DNF and Barr was way back after getting going again so came home in twenty-seventh. The boys give it their best but it just wasn’t meant to be.

Paulo Alberto from Portugal won the B final ahead of Alvin Ostlund with Luis Outeiro fourth as the perfect back up.

UPDATE: After a protest, Sweden actually qualify as there was footage of Outeiro also jumping on a waved yellow so he got docked meaning the Swedes progress through to the main final. Isak Gifting is out of action after picking up an injury so like the Netherlands will only have two riders.

This article continues below

B-Final result: 

Nations B Final classification: 

Image: Niek Fotografie