Official- AMA MX finale to have 25 minute motos


MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (September 2, 2022) – On the eve of the season finale of the 50th Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, MX Sports Pro Racing has announced that the racing schedule for the PristineAuction.com Fox Raceway II National, presented by Fox Racing, will be adjusted as a precaution for the extreme heat forecasted for the event. Motos for the 250 Class and 450 Class will be shortened to 25 minutes plus two laps, in addition to the implementation of an additional 30-minute break between the first and second sets of motos, both done to reduce the length of active exposure to the sun.
 
Triple-digit temperatures are anticipated for Saturday’s finale and in working in correspondence with officials at the Pala Fire Department and the Alpinestars Mobile Medical Unit, while also taking into the consideration the input of select race teams, the decision was made to enact measures of relief over the course of what will be the hottest afternoon of racing for the 2022 season.
 
“It is always our goal to put on the best race possible, both for the spectators who spend their hard-earned money to attend and the racers who invest their lives into competing at the highest level,” said Davey Coombs, President, MX Sports Pro Racing. “At the same time, we also need to take the safety and overall well-being of everyone who will be at Fox Raceway on Saturday into consideration. Under the guidance of public safety experts and health officials we have made the decision to act in the best interest of all parties. It was a difficult decision, but we’re obligated to look out for those who make this event and this championship possible when the risk is as high as it’s gotten for Pala and the surrounding region.”

Motos for the season-ending Fox Raceway II National will be shortened to 25 minutes plus two laps, with the addition of a 30-minute break between first and second motos.
Photo: Align Media
The Pala Band of Mission Indians issued an emergency alert to both businesses and residents of the community on the heels of an excessive heat watch issued by the National Weather Service, dated from Tuesday, August 30, until Monday, September 5, citing dangerously hot conditions with temperatures that could reach 110 degrees.
 
Additional mitigation measures will be taken on behalf of spectators at Fox Raceway, including access to several tents that have been constructed at the track for relief from direct exposure to the sun. Also, multiple hydration stations have been set up throughout the venue to facilitate increased consumption of water, while kiddie pools and submersion tanks will be placed at various locations.
 
Actions will also be taken to reduce passive exposure to the sun for competitors prior to their races. Shading has been constructed at rider staging next to the starting gate, while both the staging period and sighting-lap segments have been shortened. Water will be made available to riders as soon as each moto is completed, while submersion tubs have been made available at the Alpinestars Mobile Medical Unit.
 
The updated racing schedule will include an update to the Fox Raceway II National broadcasts on MAVTV Motorsports Network and  “MAVTV on FloRacing” where host and lead commentator Jason Weigandt will be joined by James “Bubba” Stewart as All-Star Analyst.

MAVTV MOTORSPORTS NETWORK U.S. BROADCASTS
Live domestic coverage from Fox Raceway will begin with Fast Lap Qualifying, followed by the first set of motos. “Between the Motos” will be shown during the 30-minute break before live coverage resumes with the second set of motos.
 
Saturday, September 3
Fast Lap Qualifying | 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET | LIVE
First Motos | 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET | LIVE
“Between the Motos” | 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET
Second Motos | 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET | LIVE
 
Use the MAVTV channel finder to see if the network is available in your area. MAVTV Motorsports Network is available from most cable and satellite television providers, including DIRECTV, Fios by Verizon, Optimum, and Spectrum, and is also available from streaming services like Fubo TV, Hulu + Live TV, and YouTube TV.
 
“MAVTV ON FLORACING” STREAMING COVERAGE (DOMESTIC & INTERNATIONAL)
In addition to network coverage, fans in the U.S. and in countries around the world can stream the action from Fox Raceway online through their smart TV, streaming device, or mobile device by subscribing to “MAVTV on FloRacing,” which is available to Pro Motocross fans for $6.99 a month. In addition to coverage of the motos and “Between the Motos,” live streaming will also feature an exclusive postseason celebration show that will showcase the crowning of the new season champions in addition to several other season awards.
 
Saturday, September 3
Fast Lap Qualifying | 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 17:00 GMT | LIVE
First Motos | 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET / 20:00 GMT | LIVE
“Between the Motos” | 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET / 21:00 GMT
Second Motos | 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET / 21:30 GMT | LIVE
Postseason Celebration | 5:30 p.m. PT / 8:30 p.m. ET / 23:30 GMT | LIVE
 
FloSports can be found on the iOS App Store, Google Play, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon FireTV, and Chromecast, in addition to smart TVs including Vizio, Samsung and LG. New subscribers to “MAVTV on FloRacing” can take advantage of an exclusive, limited-time offer of $6.99 a month.
Sign up now.