Flashback: A1 surprise winners – 2013

This was one of the most exciting opening races ever with Davi Millsaps and Trey Canard going at it for the win and the privateer Suzuki man Millsaps, surprisingly, taking the win against a deep field including champoions like Villopoto, Reed, Stewart and Dungey!

Despite finishing second the year before, largely due to consistency, Millsaps came into the season way under the radar as race winner and title contender but he proved it was no fluke by staying in the leading positions for most of the season on the non-factory Suzuki in what was maybe the best season of his career, with Millsaps finishing second in the series behind Ryan Villopoto.

Can Roczen do a Millsaps in 2023 and take the win on a team that isn’t used to winning in the premier class?