plan cul gratuit - plan cul marseille - voyance gratuite en ligne

Sterry and Nicholls victorious at Desertmartin

Sterry and Nicholls victorious at Desertmartin
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Font size Print

Adam Sterry produced a flawless display on a tricky track to win both motos of the MX2 class with ease. Sterry took the lead early in both moto and simply checked out confirming the pace he had shown with his pole position lap in qualifying.

The only man close to Sterry’s qualifying laptime was Martin Barr but a bad start and then a fall in turn two saw the home favourite having to come from dead last race one. Barr though wasn’t to be denied and stormed his way through to fourth place with title rival Steven Clarke firmly in his sights. By the last lap Barr was on his rear wheel and went for the pass on the tricky step-up only to get a wicked kick and get thrown over the bars. The fervent crowd who had been fixated with Barr’s charge gasped in horror and Barr hit the deck. Barr remounted to finish seventh but a shoulder injury meant he couldn’t do more than a lap in race two and was forced to withdraw.

It meant a huge turnaround in the point’s chase with Steven Clarke taking a brace of third places to now lead the series by 20 from Barr as they head to Scotland next month.

Getting lost in the championship battle and the flawless Sterry was Bryan Mackenzie who rode superbly in both motos to claim two second places. Mackenzie seems to gel with the track and was charging all day to stay as close as he could to Sterry.

1 811 Adam Sterry 50 25 25
2 121 Bryan MacKenzie 44 22 22
3 511 Steven Clarke 40 20 20
4 114 Jordan Booker 30 15 15
5 148 Michael Eccles 29 18 11
6 14 Rob Davidson 26 16 10
7 134 Liam Knight 25 13 12
8 98 Todd Kellett 24 8 16
9 151 Matt Bayliss 22 9 13
10 714 Brad Todd 18 0 18

Local man and fastest qualifier Graeme Irwin holeshot race one to the delight of the big crowd and the Buildbase Honda rider looked set to battle Tommy Searle for the win only to throw it away big style over the finish line jump and hand Searle the lead. Irwin leapt to his feet to remount only to discover the impact had snapped the handlebars meaning a heartbroken Irwin had to push his bike off the track thinking what might have been.

Tommy Searle had the same thoughts a few laps later when his bike expired after the Englishman had built a comfortable lead over Jake Nicholls. Searle, who looked set to significantly close the gap on Simpson who was running fourth, now had to watch as Simpson rode passed (battling a hand injury) and increased the points lead on a day when he probably would have lost the red plate.

It gave the always strong Jake Nicholls the win in moto won while Anderson went from fourth to second on the last lap blowing by both Simpson and Whatley in a pulsating final few turns!

Race two it was Irwin again with a massive holeshot but Searle was in front within two laps and Nicholls demoted the Irishman back to third when Irwin promptly fell and dropped to fourth all in a flurry of a lap and a half!

As Searle set matters straight out front and pulled away, Irwin passed Simpson for third and set his sights on Nicholls for second. Nicholls gave him the helping hand he needed with a small time-costing crash and all of a sudden Irwin was back in the game and being urged on by the vociferous home support to take second pace back!

Irwin needed no more encouragement and passed Nicholls with Jake content that third would bring him the overall win for the first time this season.

Even a late race fall couldn’t prevent Searle taking the victory this time as Simpson held an impressive Anderson off for another fourth place, getting the Scot on the podium.

1 45 Jake Nicholls 45 25 20
2 60 Brad Anderson 38 22 16
3 1 Shaun Simpson 36 18 18
4 227 Kristian Whatley 35 20 15
5 37 Gert Krestinov 29 15 14
6 100 Tommy Searle 25 0 25
7 21 Ryan Houghton 24 11 13
8 5 Graeme Irwin 22 0 22
9 162 Stuart Edmonds 21 9 12
10 95 Dan Thornhill 19 10 9

Your comments

More motocross news