It was the season that the 250cc class really became the premier division GP motocross.

1990 125 world champion and reigning 250 world champion Donney Schmit returned to defend his title, 1991 125 world champion Stefan Everts was back after leading the 250 series in 92 until a serious injury and the 1992 125 world champion Greg Albertyn was moving into the series to make the series a mouth-watering battle between the recent world champions, all in their prime.

Tallon Vohland stepped up to the 250 class from the 125s and coming down from the 500 class was Kurt Nicoll, who had lost the 92 500 title by only a couple points at the final round and Billy Liles who was also contending for the 500 title the previous year. Add in the 250 regulars like Bervoets, Evertson, Moore, Herring, Dewitt, a very young Fred Bolley plus and former 250 world champions Puzar and Parker and the championship was one of the most comepetitive in history.

Ultimately it was Greg Albertyn who destroyed the competition on his JHK Honda to win the title at his first attempt with Albertyn later admitting it was the best season of his career. It took an amazing 23 for the feat to be repeated when current world champ Tim Gajser won the MX2 (formerly 125) world title followed by a MXGP (formerly 250) world title back to back!

Jeffrey Herlings is the next possibility to win both titles back to back but he is already 50 points down on the lead and will need to get his championship assault back on track this weekend in Argentina to give himself a chance!


Leave a Reply