Seaforde hosted the second round of the Ulster Motocross Championship series that took place on May Day.


In the MX2 class, Jason Meara and Glenn McCormick were in a class of their own. In the first moto, Meara had just passed McCormick but the race was then red flagged which meant the results went back a lap and because of that McCormick snatched the first race win. However, in the next two moto’s Jason Meara was victorious to clinch the overall ahead of McCormick who continues to improve after picking up a shoulder injury coming into the season.

The battle for third was between Cailum Meara and Stephen Mullally on his 125cc. Mullally got the upper hand during the final moto of the day but after beating him in the first two moto’s, Meara took third overall on his Watt Kawasaki.

David Russell and Mark Patterson battled to be the best of the rest in the MX2 class with Russell coming out on top for fifth overall.

In the Semi-Expert MX2 class, it was young Conor Mullan who came out in top on his Hitachi KTM UK 125cc machine. Rhys Graham did win two of the moto’s but after a problem in the first moto couldn’t do any better than second overall.


As for the MX1 class, heading into the final moto, Richard Bird and John Meara had both won a moto each so whoever won the final moto of the day would clinch the overall. It was the more experienced Richard Bird who was able to do just that. Meara crashed out in the first moto when leading which he’ll feel cost him the victory on the day.

Robert Hamilton had a solid day on his Risk Racing Yamaha to secure third overall but still has speed to find to battle with Bird and Meara for race wins. Hamilton’s team mate, Sean Devlin edged out the ever improving Jordan McCaw to secure fourth overall.

Ashley Allerton rode strong to win the MX1 Semi-Expert class and edged out Samuel Donnelly. The experienced Joel Brown had a good day rounding off the podium and getting the better of young gun, Johnny Presho who missed out on the podium.

In the Clubman’s MX1 class it was Jordon Wade who won all three races with Scott Bailey winning the MX2 class.

You can see the overall results below:

Expert MX2 Overall:

Semi-Expert MX2 Overall:

Expert MX1 Overall:

Semi-Expert MX1 Overall:

Pic: Nigel McKinstry


Leave a Reply